Detroit Branch NAACP Announces 57th Annual Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner Awardees and Special Guest

2/17/2012 Press Conference

Tuesday, April 17, 2012- The Detroit Branch NAACP announces its all-star line-up for the 57th Annual Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner. Seated: Rhonda Pugh, Vice President, First Independence Bank, Katelyn Jackson, Manager, Public Relations & Communications The Coca-Cola Company, Vivian Pickard, President, GM Foundation, Director, Corporate Relations, GM Company and Karla Hall, Vice President DTE Energy Foundation Standing: Hiram Jackson, CEO Real Times Media (left), Miguel Foster, Director UAW Civil Rights Department, Rev. Dr. Wendell Anthony, President, Detroit Branch NAACP, Kirk Lewis, Deputy Mayor, City of Detroit, Donnell R. White, Executive Director, Detroit Branch NAACP

On Tuesday, April 17, 2012 the Detroit Branch NAACP held a press conference to announce the Awardees and Special Guest for the 57th Annual Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner. The following awardees and special guest were announced by Detroit Branch NAACP President, Rev. Dr. Wendell Anthony:

2012 James Weldon Johnson Lifetime Achievement Awardee
Rev. Dr. Julius C. Hope
Pastor, New Grace Missionary Baptist Church & NAACP National Director Department of Religious Affairs

2012 Great Expectations Awardee
Atty. Nabih Ayad
Founder, Arab American Civil Rights League

2012 Great Expectations Awardee
Rhonda Walker
Founder and President, Rhonda Walker Foundation

2012 Ida B. Wells Freedom and Justice Awardee
Rachel Maddow
Host, “The Rachel Maddow Show”

2012 Mary White Ovington Freedom and Justice Awardee
Maureen Taylor
State Chairperson, Michigan Welfare Rights Organization

Special Guest
Professor Charles Ogletree
Harvard Law School

Joining President, Rev. Anthony and Executive Director, Donnell R. White during the press conference were Centennial and Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner Chairs and Detroit’s Deputy Mayor Kirk Lewis.